New Death Cab For Cutie – “I Will Possess Your Heart”

New Death Cab For Cutie – “I Will Possess Your Heart”

You guys had fun with our game building jokes out of Death Cab’s new record title Narrow Stairs (e.g. Ned said: “How do you confine an obese person to the lower floors of a house?” — and that’s the most politically correct one) … but we think you’re gonna find even more to love out of the record’s first listen, “I Will Possess Your Heart.” Walla’s back on production of course, setting the scene instrumentally for almost two minutes with a groovy bass vamp, a little piano, and atmospheric guitar chatter. Actually, it’s not too far from a Phish jam (that’s not a joke), until Gibbard starts in with the earnest requests to spend time together and the threats of heart possession. This is the bass line that soundtracked that video preview last year. We’re liking it.

If you’re into buying your music, Amazon will possess your wallet.

Narrow Stairs is out 5/13 via Atlantic. The tracklist:

01 “Bixby Canyon Bridge”
02 “I Will Possess Your Heart”
03 “No Sunlight”
04 “Cath…”
05 “Talking Bird”
06 “You Can Do Better Than Me”
07 “Grapevine Fires”
08 “Your New Twin Sized Bed”
09 “Long Division”
10 “Pity and Fear”
11 “The Ice Is Getting Thinner”

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?