New Massive Attack – “Splitting The Atom”

Moody broody UK trip-hop icons Massive Attack are on their way back with a four-song EP this October, featuring some highly promising vocal cameos including turns from TVOTR’s Tunde Adibempe, Elbow dude Guy Garvey, and Martina Topley Bird. It’s called Splitting The Atom, that’s its artwork, and this is its title track, which premiered last night on Zane Lowe BBC show. “Splitting” features some guest singing from Horace Andy on a sinister, chilly tune that sounds like Gorillaz gone creepy as fuck.

The Splitting The Atom EP is out 10/5 via Virgin. Here’s the tracklist:

01 “Splitting The Atom” (Feat. The 3D, Daddy G, and Horace Andy)
02 “Pray For Rain” (Feat. Tunde Adebimpe)
03 “Psyche (Van Rivers & The Subliminal Kid Remix)” (Feat. Martina Topley Bird)
04 “Bulletproof Love (Christoff Berg Remix)” (Feat. Guy Garvey)

To be clear, those remixes are new songs as well; their original instances are expected to appear on the forthcoming Massive Attack full-length(!) expected in February. Speaking of Gorillaz, Damon Albarn’s reportedly on it, and you can be sure there’ll be a slew more notable cameos. Keep you posted.