Veruca Salt - Record Store Day EP

In their brief time as a unit, the Nina Gordon/Louise Post iteration of Veruca Salt was both a target of scenester derision and highly, highly dysfunctional, but most importantly, they wrote some great songs. They released two very good albums and one very good EP between 1994 – 1997, and in 1998 Gordon quit the band amid Fleetwood Mac-level drama, the details of which remain totally unclear to this day. Gordon went on to make a couple albums of Aimee Mann-lite songwriter pop, while Post carried on with an altered version of Veruca Salt, releasing two EPs and two LPs of sub-Hole angst rock. But last year, the original Veruca Salt lineup reunited — Gordon, Post, Steve Lack, and Jim Shapiro — and they’re now set to release their first new material since 1998′s Eight Arms To Hold You.

However, they haven’t just gotten the band back together; the new music was recorded with Brad Wood (who produced Veruca Salt’s 1994 debut, American Thighs) and it will be released on Minty Fresh Records, the Chicago-based indie label that initially released Veruca Salt’s very first record, the “Seether”/”All Hail Me” 7″. Why, the reunited Veruca Salt is so committed to recreating the experience of Veruca Salt circa ’94 that their forthcoming release — a 10″ Record Store Day exclusive — actually features “Seether” on the A-side! The new songs, “The Museum Of Broken Relationships” and “It’s Holy” appear on the flip. The 10″ is out 4/19 via Minty Fresh, presumably foreshadowing a new LP (or at least tour) at some point.

Comments (3)
  1. 17 years? LOL more like 8. Their last album was released in 2006. Its called IV. Its good.

  2. Love the fact that the original lineup is back, though Louise did some nice work with VS, post Nina. IV is probably their second best album. That was a fierce lineup. Kellii Scott is a beast of a drummer.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2