Despite what they titled their last record, Underworld’s taken a bit more than A Hundred Days Off: The longstanding English techno duo haven’t released a proper full-length in five years, but we’d be remise not to mention the subtle, drifting Breaking And Entering soundtrack Karl Hyde and Rick Smith tackled with biggie composer Gabriel Yared for Anthony Minghella’s 2006 Jude Law ’n’ Juliette Binoche entanglement. Heck, there was enough expansiveness in the lovely brain freeze “Counterpoint Hang Pulse” alone to plug a fair share of the five-year gap. (Also noteworthy in the film realm: 10 years before Breaking hit the silver screen, Underworld received their biggest taste of crossing-over via the inclusion of “Born Slippy .NUXX” in Trainspotting. They’ve also scored the forthcoming Danny Boyle flick, Sunshine.) So maybe they never really went anywhere ? but film work aside, the boys are back with their fifth studio album, Oblivion With Bells.

Belying its name, first single “Crocodile” snakes powdery, icy, fluttering synths, crystallized (occasionally wooden) electro-drums, a low, grimy bass blurt, and emotional, at times robotic vocal showers about a special someone who scratches backs rhythmically and migrates beneath skin. Can you say the wedding song of 2007? (via

Oblivion In Bells is out 10/3 on Different.

Comments (8)
  1. this is great news, can’t wait to hear it. thanks ‘Gum.

    everyone should hear their song “Cowgirl” ..or my personal fav “Jumbo”

  2. Carlos D  |   Posted on Aug 8th, 2007 0

    As much as I love Underworld, the real wedding song of 2007 is undeniably:

    UGK – International Player’s Anthem (Feat. Outkast)

    (See awesome, awesome video here:

    Interesting song from Underworld though, would probably sound AMAZING live.

  3. I love “Jumbo” too. Actually, ALL of Beaucoup Fish. What a great album. I remember reading a review (CMJ) at the time that called “Cups” the “Stairway To Heaven” of electronica. Which is sort of silly, but sort of true.

  4. volume-addict  |   Posted on Aug 8th, 2007 0

    I still wish Darren Emerson was still around. He helped beef up lots of their better songs.

  5. matthew  |   Posted on Aug 8th, 2007 0

    Cannot wait for the Central Park Summerstage in Sepember!!!

  6. Sounds like a newer version of ‘dark and long’ with less early-90′s synth bleeps and sounds.

    Still, I will reserve judgement for ‘bells’ when I hear it in it’s entirety.

  7. Cprest  |   Posted on Aug 8th, 2007 0

    first “proper full length” true – but what about the net only releases? The River Run Series I believe it was called… three releases: “Lovely Broken Thing,” “Pizza for Eggs” and “I’m a Princess, and This Is My Horse.” These three were later mixed together in The Misterons Mix – only available online to those who bought the other three. There were also remix 12″ of some of the Riverrun tracks released more recently, but these were very limited edition.

    They also had a ltd edition 3CD set sold on tour – Live in Tokyo.

  8. greyv  |   Posted on Aug 20th, 2007 0

    any news on a new Underworld album?

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2