Band Of Horses – “Slow Cruel Hands Of Time”

The first single from Band Of Horses’ forthcoming Mirage Rock, “Knock Knock,” was a buoyant, zippy rocker — so for the followup, they’re going with the breaking ball: “Slow Cruel Hands Of Time” is BoH at their gentlest, warmest, and most delicate: all acoustic guitars, brushed drums, and multi-part harmonies. When I wrote up the Mirage Rock teaser snippet from “Dumpster World,” I likened this aspect of their sound to CSNY; a commenter suggested a more accurate comp would be America (the band behind “Horse With No Name”). I can’t argue with that. Even so, I can’t help thinking this stuff is pretty damn gorgeous. Give it a listen, let me know what you think.

01 “Knock Knock”
02 “How To Live”
03 “Slow Cruel Hands Of Time”
04 “A Little Biblical”
05 “Shut-In Tourist”
06 “Dumpster World”
07 “Electric Music”
08 “Everything’s Gonna Be Undone”
09 “Feud”
10 “Long Vows”
11 “Heartbreak On The 101″
12 “Ego Nightmare” (iTunes bonus track)

Mirage Rock is out 9/18 on Columbia.