Twilight – “Lungs”

The third album from black metal supergroup Twilight would have been noteworthy even if it didn’t feature the contributions of new member Thurston Moore. In every incarnation, the band’s ever-shifting lineup routinely includes some of America’s most prominent metal luminaries, including Malefic from Xasthur, Aaron Turner from Isis, and Blake Judd from Nachtmystium. None of those musicians, however, were involved in the making of the forthcoming III: Beneath Trident’s Tomb. Of course, Turner and Malefic were never expected to participate in III, but until now (as far as I know), Judd was considered a full-time member of Twilight, at least publicly. (He was basically the band’s spokesperson when the Thurston news was released.) But via brand-new official lineup details and songwriting credits, the band has made it very clear Judd was not a part of the making of this album, and is not a member of Twilight. They’ve also announced that as of today, the band has been “dissolved.” Not sure if any of this is related to any of Judd’s recent tribulations, but I’m sure rumors will abound until/unless a more detailed announcement is made. Anyway, the first track to be released from III, “Lungs,” is a dank, lurching beast with an almost tribal rhythm and some seriously skronking, atonal guitars. I didn’t think Thurston was gonna be audible at all on this thing, but damn if he’s not front and center here. Give it a spin, and check out the full Blakeless album details below.

III: Beneath Trident’s Tomb’s album lineup is:

N. Imperial (Krieg) – vocals
Wrest (Leviathan, Lurker Of Chalice)- drums/bass/vocals
Stavros Giannopoulos (The Atlas Moth) – guitars/vocals
Sanford Parker (producer, Minsk, ex-Nachtmystium) – synths/electronics/production
Thurston Moore (Sonic Youth, Chelsea Light Moving) – guitar/vocals

And its tracklist/songwriting credits:

01 “Lungs” (Whitehead/Jameson)
02 “Oh Wretched Son” (Giannopoulos/Whitehead/Jameson)
03 “Swarming Funereal Mass” (Whitehead/Jameson)
04 “Seek No Shelter Fevered Ones” (Giannopoulos/Whitehead/Jameson)
05 “A Flood Of Eyes” (Giannopoulos/Moore/Whitehead/Jameson)
06 “Below Lights” (Parker/Jameson)

III: Beneath Trident’s Tomb is out 3/18 via Century Media.