Bat For Lashes – “In God’s House” & The Bride Details

Bat For Lashes – “In God’s House” & The Bride Details

It’s been about four years since Bat For Lashes offered her last full-length, The Haunted Man, but she dropped the single “I Do” a few weeks ago, and the interwebs went abuzz as the single’s artwork featured a save-the-date card with 7/1 on it. Today, Natasha Khan is back with another single, “In God’s House,” and our hopes for a Bat For Lashes summer wedding-themed album came true! The new album will be called The Bride, and the new single is a dark, low-end-heavy excursion with Khan’s feathery vocals floating beautifully above. Listen.

Written as the soundtrack for a feature length film in mind, The Bride follows the story of a woman whose fiancé has been killed in a crash on the way to the church for their wedding. She flees the scene to take the honeymoon trip alone, resulting in a dark meditation on love, loss, grief, and celebration. See the full narrative which inspired the album below:

The Bride Narrative

Here’s the tracklist:
01 “I Do”
02 “Joe’s Dream (Don’t Say Goodbye)”
03 “In God’s House”
04 “Honeymooning Alone”
05 “Sunday Love”
06 “Never Forgive The Angels”
07 “Close Encounters”
08 “Widow’s Peak”
09 “Land’s End”
10 “If I Knew”
11 “I Will Love Again”

and dates for a short Church Tour, which begins after B4L’s Coachella appearance. Tickets go on sale Friday 3/18…
04/20 Los Angeles, CA @ First Presbyterian Church of Hollywood
05/13 Manchester, UK @ Manchester Cathedral
05/15 Brighton, UK @ St. George’s
05/16 London, UK @ Union Chapel
06/01 Brooklyn, NY @ Saint Ann & The Holy Trinity

The Bride is out 7/1 via Parlophone. Pre-order is available here.

more from News

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already a VIP? Sign in.