Thee Oh Sees – “Plastic Plants”

Thee Oh Sees – “Plastic Plants”

The wild and prolific Californian garage-psych monarchs in Thee Oh Sees gave us their Mutilator Defended At Last LP just last year, but they’ve already got plans to launch another one at us. As Pitchfork reports, the band’s new album, which has the syntactically confounding title A Weird Exits, is coming out later this summer. It’s the first album to showcase the band’s new lineup, which features drummers Ryan Moutinho and Dan Rincon and bassist Tim Hellman alongside frontman Jon Dwyer. First single “Plastic Plant” takes its time, sprawling over nearly six minutes and building to one raging climax after another while the rhythm section keeps things simmering even during the slow parts. I’m a fan of almost any band with more than one drummer, and this song seriously makes use of that extra firepower. Listen to it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Dead Man’s Gun”
02 “Ticklish Warrior”
03 “Jammed Entrance”
04 “Plastic Plant”
05 “Gelatinous Cube”
06 “Unwrap The Fiend Pt. 2″
07 “Crawl Out From The Fall Out”
08 “The Axis”

A Weird Exits is out 8/12 on Castle Face.

more from New Music

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already a VIP? Sign in.