The Chills – “Oncoming Day (Early Version)”

The Chills – “Oncoming Day (Early Version)”

Dunedin Sound proponents the Chills’ 1986 compilation album, Kaleidoscope World, is getting reissued. The comp, which was the New Zealand band’s first official release, was initially made up of 8 early singles — it was re-released the following year in 1987, and the track list ballooned to 18. Now, it’s getting an additional six tracks in the form of b-sides and demos, including an early version of “Oncoming Day,” a song that would eventually be included on their 1990 album Submarine Bells. Listen to that below.

01 “Kaleidoscope World”
02 “Satin Doll”
03 “Frantic Drift”
04 “Rolling Moon”
05 “Bite”
06 “Flame Thrower”
07 “Pink Frost”
08 “Purple Girl”
09 “This Is The Way”
10 “Never Never Go”
11 “Don’t Even Know Her Name”
12 “Bee Bah Bee Bah Bee Boe”
13 “Whole Weird World”
14 “Dream By Dream”
15 “Doledrums”
16 “Hidden Bay”
17 “I Love My Leather Jacket”
18 “The Great Escape”
19 “Oncoming Day (Early Version)”
20 “Dan Destiny And The Silver Dawn (Unplugged)”
21 “Martyns Doctor Told Me”
22 “I’ll Only See You Alone Again”
23 “Green Eyed Owl (Live)”
24 “Smile From A Dead Dead Face (Live)”

The Kaleidoscope World reissue is out 8/19 via Flying Nun.

    more from New Music

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?