Stef Chura – “You”

Stef Chura – “You”

Stef Chura is one of Michigan’s DIY VIPs. The rocker has been roving across the Great Lakes State for years now, uprooting at least 20 times while coordinating underground concerts and honing her musical vision all the while. Now all that development is ready to be displayed on Messes, Chura’s full-length debut album, due out in January. That’s the cover art above by artist Molly Soda.

After sharing a video for opening track “Slow Motion” earlier this year, Chura returns for the album announcement today with the gleaming guitar jam “You.” The twilight-shaded alt-rock track is topped off with Chura’s striking vocal presence, each word quivering with power whether whispered, moaned, or fiercely belted out. It’s the sound of a songwriter taking familiar sounds and molding them into her own unmistakable image. Hear “You” below, where you can also watch the “Slow Motion” video.

Messes tracklist:

01 “Slow Motion”
02 “You”
03 “Thin”
04 “Human Being”
05 “Faded Heart”
06 “Spotted Gold”
07 “Time To Go”
08 “Messes”
09 “On And Off For You”
10 “Becoming Shadows”
11 “Speeding Ticket”

Messes is out 1/27 on Urinal Cake Records. Pre-order it here.

Stef Chura
CREDIT: Zak Bratto

more from New Music