The xx – “On Hold”

The xx – “On Hold”

It’s true! The xx do have a new album called I See You coming soon — this January, to be specific. They officially announced it this morning and shared lead single “On Hold,” an understated yet soaring disco ballad in the classic xx vein that spotlights all three members (and could almost pass for a three-way vocal collaboration if you count Jamie xx’s production samples as his voice). It’s just about the grandest return I could imagine from this band.

The song samples Hall & Oates’ “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do).” It’s the xx’s first prominent sample in a song, though not the first one altogether: “Chained” contains a small drum part from the Crusaders’ “Lillies Of The Nile.” Daryl Hall commented on the song in a Genius post: “It’s always interesting to hear what somebody does with my songs,” he says. “After a song is written, it belongs to the world and can be interpreted anyway they want. As long as I get paid, of course. Have fun and pay me.” Of course, it seems the “On Hold” sample is all cleared, so good for the xx.

Listen below, where you can also find full album details.

I See You was produced by Jamie xx and Rodaidh McDonald over almost three years in cities around the world: New York, Marfa, Reykjavik, London, L.A. The band shared a statement about their return:

After many years, close together, far apart, great highs, deep lows, heartache and healing, we are so happy to let you know we are releasing our 3rd album ‘I See You’ on January 13th 2017.
We realise these are uncertain times and we hope the joy and love we found making the record will find its way out into the world, in however small a way.
Our first single ‘On Hold’ is available everywhere now.
Excited to see you all very soon.
xx The xx

01 “Dangerous”
02 “Say Something Loving”
03 “Lips”
04 “A Violent Noise”
05 “Performance”
06 “Replica”
07 “Brave For You”
08 “On Hold”
09 “I Dare You”
10 “Test Me”

No word on “Naive” and “Seasons Run,” the other two song titles that appeared on Shazam ahead of the album announcement. Maybe they’ll be B-sides? (UPDATE: As commenter Joshua Carlton points out, they’re bonus tracks on the deluxe vinyl.)

I See You is out 1/13/17 on XL. Pre-order it here.

CREDIT: Laura Coulson

    more from New Music

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?