Stream “Compressor” From The Microphones’ Early Tapes, 1996-1998

The Microphones, Phil Elverum’s awesome and influential analog recording project that later morphed into his current gig Mount Eerie, have (absurdly) announced a collection of early rarities called Early Tapes, 1996-1998. That’s exciting news, and it gets even more exciting when you hear “Compressor,” the lovely and understated track he’s already posted on Bandcamp. Hear it below.


01 “Teenage Moustache”
02 “So Wrong”
03 “Nightly”
04 “the Creeps”
05 “5 String Attack”
06 “Beautiful Face”
07 “For Kaye, June 6″
08 “Night Time”
09 “(bass)”
10 “Microphone pt. 1″
11 “drums tape loop with bass”
12 “Feedback Loop”
13 “Compressor”
14 “Microphone pt. 2″
15 “Rebirth on Tape Deck Mountain”
16 “Wires And Cords”

Early Tapes, 1996-1998 is out 12/9. Pre-order it at Bandcamp.