Mew – “Carry Me To Safety”

The proggy, grandiose Danish trio Mew like to take a long time between albums, but only two years after the release of 2015’s impressive +-, they’re about to come back with a new one. This morning, Mew announced plans to release the new self-produced album Visuals. Of the relatively brief gap between LPs, frontman Jonas Bjerre says, “The live shows around that album saw us hit a creative peak, writing tracks on-the-road and the spark was lit. Breaking the normal cycle felt right and we wanted to make an album spontaneously retaining the energy we’d generated on that world tour, rather than wait the normal three or four years.” First single and album closer “Carry Me To Safety” is a grand, lovely, sweeping piece of work that builds slowly and piles on strings, recalling prime Pink Floyd. Give it a listen and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Nothingness And No Regrets”
02 “The Wake Of Your Life”
03 “Candy Pieces All Smeared Out”
04 “In A Better Place”
05 “Ay Ay Ay”
06 “Learn Our Crystals”
07 “Twist Quest”
08 “Shoulders”
09 “Videos”
10 “Zanzibar”
11 “Carry Me To Safety”

Visuals is out 4/28 on Play It Again Sam.

Tags: Mew