Pallbearer – “Thorns”

Pallbearer – “Thorns”

This seems to be the time when the metal giants are waking up again. Last night, Mastodon announced their new album Emperor Of Sand and shared the single “Sultan’s Curse.” And now Arkansas doom metal masters Pallbearer are letting the world hear the massive, crushing “Thorns,” the first single from their new album Heartless. The new album follows 2014’s excellent Foundations Of Burden, and it’s only seven songs long, which means that some of those songs are probably long as fuck. If “Thorns” is any indication, the new album could be even better than Foundations Of Burden. The song moves from thundering Sabbath crush to classical-guitar beauty and back again. It’s just a fucking monster. Below, listen to it and check out the Heartless tracklist.

01 “I Saw The End”
02 “Thorns”
03 “Lie Of Survival”
04 “Dancing In Madness”
05 “Cruel Road”
06 “Heartless”
07 “A Plea For Understanding”

Heartless is out 3/24 on Profound Lore.

more from New Music

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already disabled it? Click here to refresh.