Minutemen, Wilco, Deerhoof Members Form Big Walnuts Yonder, Share New Song “Raise The Drawbridges?”

Big Walnuts Yonder is a new band that consists of Minutemen bassist Mike Watt, Wilco guitarist Nels Cline, Deerhoof drummer Greg Saunier, and Nick Reinhart of Tera Melos. The origin of the group dates all the way back to 2008, when Watt and Reinhart were touring together in Japan and thinking about recording. They soon brought in Cline and Saunier, but thanks to all of their busy schedules, nothing actually came of the team-up until 2014, when they recorded their whole self-titled album in a mere three days. “It was this concentrated sort of freakout,” Saunier says. “We basically had to invent a new band on the spot.” According to a press release, their music contains elements of “proto-punk, free jazz, power pop, experimental music, psych-rock, and your first teenage acid trip all in one” and all of that is definitely present on chaotic new track “Raise The Drawbridges?” Listen and check out the album cover and tracklist below.

BIg Walnuts Yonder


01 “All Against All”
02 “Sponge Bath”
03 “Flare Star Phantom”
04 “I Got Marty Feldman Eyes”
05 “Raise the Drawbridges?”
06 “Ready to Pop!”
07 “Forgot to Brush”
08 “Rapid Driver Moon Inhaler”
09 “Pud”
10 “Heat Melter”

Big Walnuts Yonder is out 5/5 via Sargent House.