Ohmme – “3 2 4 3”

Ohmme – “3 2 4 3”

Ohmme, the Chicago band led by Sima Cunningham and Macie Stewart, made a lot of fans with their 2018 debut album Parts. From the sounds of lead single “3 2 4 3,” they’ll convert even more people with its follow-up, Fantasize Your Ghost, which drops this June on Joyful Noise and was produced by Chris Cohen.

Stewart used to play in Kids These Days, the teenage hip-hop band that helped nurture the likes of Vic Mensa and Nico Segal, and she’s made her way into Chicago’s avant-garde jazz community, collaborating with Ken Vandermark and others. But with Cunningham, she crafts folk-tinged indie rock tracks like “3 2 4 3.” Their harmonies teem with nervous energy while riding a sweeping rhythmic undercurrent, building up tension that occasionally explodes into fleeting moments of release. “Tearing them up to start again” becomes their impassioned refrain.

Watch Alejandra Villalba García’s “3 2 4 3″ video below.

01 “Flood Your Gut”
02 “Selling Candy”
03 “Ghost”
04 “The Limit”
05 “Spell It Out”
06 “Twitch”
07 “3 2 4 3″
08 “Some Kind Of Calm”
09 “Sturgeon Moon”
10 “After All”

Fantasize Your Ghost is out 6/5 on Joyful Noise. Pre-order it here.


    more from New Music

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?