Amen Dunes – “Purple Land”

Amen Dunes – “Purple Land”

Amen Dunes fans have been waiting a long time for this day. Damon McMahon hasn’t released an album since 2018’s Freedom, but he’ll return with his first new LP in six years this spring. Death Jokes is coming in May via Amen Dunes’ new label home Sub Pop.

Along with today’s announcement comes some extremely limited tour dates and a video for lead single “Purple Land.” The song is a new-wavey folk-rock slow-build with some artful lyrics that should be a lot of fun for Amen Dunes fans to pick apart. A statement from McMahon:

Purple Land is one of the album’s interstitial character portraits: first of a child, then the narrator, and then of an empowered figure as they all navigate and find liberation from the disconnection and disenchantment of an uncertain world. It begins first as a song to my daughter about life on earth, offering platitudes, warnings, and guidance through its various stages, until it becomes a reflection on the narrator’s own uncertainties as he moves through the world, ending finally with a character Rhea Anne who exemplifies liberation from it all in a moment of simple reckless freedom, as the beat drops in the final minute of the song.

Watch the video below.

01 “Death Jokes”
02 “Ian”
03 “Joyrider”
04 “What I Want”
05 “Rugby Child”
06 “Boys”
07 “Exodus”
08 “Predator”
09 “Solo Tape”
10 “Purple Land”
11 “I Don’t Mind”
12 “Mary Anne”
13 “Round The World”
14 “Poor Cops”

05/08 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
05/10 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Bellwether
05/15 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
07/01 – Paris, FR @ Trabendo
07/03 – Berlin, DE @ Gretchen
07/05 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
07/07 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
07/09 – London, UK @ KOKO

Death Jokes is out 5/10 on Sub Pop.

Michael Schmelling

more from New Music