More About Joanna Newsom’s Ys

You probably read that Drag City is releasing Joanna Newsom’s Ys on 11/14. It’s got only five songs (55 minutes total). It was recorded with Steve Albini, mixed with Jim O?Rourke, and features orchestration arranged by Van Dyke Parks. Which means it’s gonna be Stereogum’s favorite album of the year.

Ys Tracklist
1. Emily
2. Monkey & Bear
3. Sawdust & Diamonds
4. Only Skin
5. Cosmia

A few other details we were able to dig up:

  • The album’s pronounced “eees.”
  • There will be no free MP3.
  • There will be no streaming audio.
  • There will be no MySpace. (Yes, there are imposters.)

    Advances go on out Wednesday, so if we’re lucky enough to score one we’ll translate its beauty into words for you. Otherwise, we’ll see you at McCarren Park Pool in one week: Neko Case, Joanna Newsom, and Martha Wainwright! Pray for eees.