Guilt By Association

The freak folk tribute to Madonna may or may not qualify as an endeavor indulging a guilty pleasure for a few of the participating freaky folkers, but the forthcoming collection Guilt By Association makes no bones about the spreading the cheese — while enlisting some of indie’s most beloved players along the way. The record sees folks like Luna, the Concretes, Jim O’Rourke, Superchunk, Will Oldham, and Mike Watt cover karaoke favorites including Journey, Oasis, Shania, Paula Abdul, Cher, and, of course, Fall Out Boy (at whose bar you can likely hear the likes of Luna, the Concretes, Jim O’Rourke, Superchunk…..).

Still months off from adding this one to that fat CD wallet, but if you head over to MySpace now, you can have a listen at Devendra’s bossa-based smack down on Oasis and Mariah Carey’s Rainbow jam “Can’t Take That Away” as interpreted, inspirationally, by one Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy. Finest of all, naturally, is Petra Haden’s a cappella “Don’t Stop Believin’,” a song otherwise revitalized to these ears thanks to Of Montreal’s karaoke exploits. But Petra’s take is something special, with a little unexpected spoken word, and killer guitar solos, harmonies and all. Perhaps even better than her last classic rock a cappella experience.

Guilt By Association is out 8/28 on Engine Room Recordings. Tracklist and cover assignments after the jump.

01 Petra Haden – “Don’t Stop Believing” (Journey)
02 Devendra Banhart – “Don’t Look Back In Anger” (Oasis)
03 Mark Mulcahy – “From This Moment On” (Shania Twain)
04 Luna – “Straight Up” (Paula Abdul)
05 The Concretes – “Back For Good” (Take That)
06 Jim O’Rourke – “Viva Forever” (Spice Girls)
07 Goat – “Sugar We’re Going Down” (Fall Out Boy)
08 Will Oldham – “Can’t Take That Away” (Mariah Carey)
09 Woody Jackson Orchestra featuring Money Mark – “Love’s Theme” (Love Unlimited Orchestra)
10 Porter Block – “Breaking Free” (High School Musical)
11 Mooney Suzuki – “Just Like Jesse James” (Cher)
12 Geoff Farina – “Two Tickets To Paradise” (Eddie Money)
13 Casey Shea – “Chop Suey” (System of a Down)
14 Superchunk – “Say My Name” (Destiny’s Child)
15 Mike Watt – “Burning For You” (Blue Oyster Cult)