Secret Cities – “Love Crime” (Stereogum Premiere)

We had just discovered BTW Secret Cities in April last year, when their debut (under the Secret Cities name) was about to come out on Western Vinyl. That album was the result of five years of work, so a nice surprising that they’re back so soon with their second album. The band moved to an old bank basement in Kansas City, Missouri to record Strange Hearts. The band also gave themselves a three month deadline to finish recording. You’ll hear the same cascading harmonies and unpredictable but totally natural shifts between song sections on “Love Crime,” but it’s a lot more compact and urgent. Deadlines are good. Listen:

Secret Cities – “Love Crime”

Strange Hearts is out 3/29 via Western Vinyl. Here’s the tracklist:

01 “Always Friends”
02 “Ice Cream Scene”
03 “The Park”
04 “Love Crime”
05 “No Pressure”
06 “Pebbles”
07 “Strange Hearts”
08 “Interlude”
09 “Brief Encounter”
10 “Forest of Love”
11 “Portland”