Watch LCD Soundsystem’s Final Gig At Madison Square Garden

LCD Soundsystem - Madison Square Garden

Watch LCD Soundsystem’s Final Gig At Madison Square Garden

LCD Soundsystem - Madison Square Garden

“If you stand in one place you can see all of Williamsburg walk by,” was a line Scott laid out early in the night. “Hipster Prom” said another. Everything about the crowd, and dress, and spirit animating MSG last night had the unmistakable feel of a happening, an event — but of course no band gets big enough to sell-out the Garden solely on the back of one neighborhood, and one of the things a popular band has to reconcile is the shift in character of its audience that comes with the increase in its size. And maybe that’s one of the things James Murphy, ever the class act, recognized about his band and its trajectory, performing with all his heart one last time for those who came to love his experiment in carefully styled emulation, but also quitting while it and its attendant culture were still in a recognizable shape. Because this crowd loved this band, but was also filled with the sort of person who annotates an evening in amazingly steak-headed fashion, yelling things all night like “HE BETTER BEATBOX” at Reggie Watts during the second act’s 45:33 recreation. Sometimes, it was hard to focus on the music.

But yes, this was an extended, celebratory moment that belonged to everyone in the room but no one more than James, orchestrating this slow and, after five shows, slightly weary dissolve on the week’s long goodbye. “All My Friends,” and “Losing My Edge,” and the final “New York I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down” were poignant. People hung on their words. Balloons fell. Arcade Fire made like 2007 and did the freakouts on “North American Scum.” LCD was, admittedly, an experiment in emulation. But its every beat, down to its knowing when to end, also made it an example of how to study well, and choose wisely. There are elegant elegies on the internet, and also streamed the whole show and you can steam that whole thing below. We’ll start with a pro-cut of Arcade Fire joining LCD’s continental love letter, one last time.

And here is the whole show, in all its glory:


Set 1:
“Dance Yrself Clean”
“Drunk Girls”
“I Can Change
“Time to Get Away”
“Get Innocuous!”
“Daft Punk Is Playing At My House”
“Too Much Love”
“All My Friends”

Set 2:
45:33 Part One
45:33 Part Two (ft. Reggie Watts)
“Sound of Silver”
45:33 Part Four
45:33 Part Five (ft. Shit Robot)
45:33 Part Six
“Freak Out/Starry Eyes”

Set 3:
“Us V. Them”
“North American Scum” (ft. Régine Chassagne, Jeremy Gara, Win Butler, and Will Butler of Arcade Fire)
“Bye Bye Bayou” (Alan Vega cover)
“You Wanted A Hit”

Encore 1:
“Someone Great”
“Losing My Edge”

Encore 2:
“All I Want”
“Jump Into The Fire” (Harry Nilsson cover)
“New York, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down”

    more from News