Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds Are Coming

At a press conference at London’s Electric Cinema today, ex-Oasis bro Noel Gallagher revealed details of his new solo project. The band’s called Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds and their debut album is out 10/17 on his Sour Mash Records. “There are echoes of Oasis,” Noel promised reporters, “but there’s no guitar solo until the sixth song.” Liam Gallagher has already deemed it shite. And there’s more: a second album, another collaboration with Amorphous Androgynous, will follow in 2012. Here’s the tracklist for High Flying Birds, which was recorded by Noel and David Sardy:

01 “Everybody’s On The Run”
02 “Dream On”
03 “If I Had A Gun…”
04 “The Death Of You And Me”
05 “(I Wanna Live In A Dream In My) Record Machine”
06 “AKA… What A Life!”
07 “Soldier Boys And Jesus Freaks”
08 “AKA… Broken Arrow”
09 “(Stranded On) The Wrong Beach”
10 “Stop The Clocks”

“The Death Of You And Me” is thought to be the first single, and a tour is confirmed for the fall. Stay tuned to the new @NoelGallagher for details.

UPDATE: Here’s a clip from the Q&A:

Liam responds…