New She & Him (Zooey Deschanel & M. Ward) – “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?”

You’d think the collaboration of indie folkie M. Ward and indie hottie Zooey Deschanel would be a match made in Stereogum heaven … and you’d be right. The two have finished work on their project’s first volume, Volume One: two covers, nine Zooey originals. Merge is putting out the album, and is also psyched, throwing out Dusty Springfield, Linda Ronstadt and, the Zombies as reference points. The first track’s definitely rooted in that era, M.’s production and playing adding a dusty glaze to Zooey’s sassy teases. Your move, Scarlett.

Zooey Deschanel & M. Ward are She & Him. In other news, Zooey is pretty.

She & Him – “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?” (MP3)

Not bad. Volume One is out 3/18 via Merge. Here’s a tracklist:

01 “Sentimental Heart”
02 “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?”
03 “This Is Not A Test”
04 “Change Is Hard”
05 “I Thought I Saw Your Face Today”
06 “Take It Back”
07 “I Was Made for You”
08 “You Really Got a Hold on Me” (Miracles cover)
09 “Black Hole”
10 “Got Me”
11 “I Should Have Known Better” (Beatles cover)

And advance notice on live shows, so you can lineup now and fight the photogs for elbow room:

03/02 San Francisco, CA @ Noise Pop
03/14 Austin, TX @ The Parish (Merge Records SXSW showcase)

Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward are She & Him