Band To Watch

Band To Watch: Raleigh Moncrief

The excellently named Sacremento producer Raleigh Moncrief has been something of an indie rock “that guy,” for the past few years, staying busy on the periphery. He engineered and co-produced Dirty Projectors’ Bitte Orca, and he’s played in Marnie Stern’s backing band on tour. His debut solo album Watered Lawn, meanwhile, is coming out on Anticon, the label that built its name as a home for gnarled, abstract underground rap. Watered Lawn walks a line between those two poles. In Moncrief’s vocals, you can hear the Dirty Projectors connection; he’s got that knack for throwing sweet R&B falsetto-hooks through twisty time-signatures and art-pop arrangements. But the album also fits in just fine with California’s bass music scene, all off-kilter low-end rumbles and Dilla-damaged drum programming.

Below, download “I Just Saw” and “Lament For Morning,” two tracks from the album. We’ve also got the album’s tracklist and cover art. It’s out 10/25 on Anticon.

Raleigh Moncrief – “I Just Saw”

Raleigh Moncrief – “Lament For Morning”

01 “The Air”
02 “A Day To Die”
03 “I Just Saw”
04 “In This Grass”
05 “Cast Out For Days”
06 “Lament For Morning”
07 “The Right Idea”
08 “Don’t Shoot”
09 “Time Passed By”
10 “Waiting For My Brothers Here”
11 “Mothers”

Raleigh Moncrief - Watered Lawn

[Photo by Noah Kalina]