The ‘Gum Drop Volume XXVIII: Hear New Retribution Gospel Choir, Win Nike Swag

Retribution Gospel Choir is the dark, heavy Minnesota trio of Low guitarist/vocalist Alan Sparhawk and new Low bassist Steve Garrington (who recently replaced Matt Livingston in both bands) with drummer/vocalist Eric Pollard. Imagine Low, minus Mimi Parker, doing dynamic, moody, muscular, and spare stoner rock. Yeah, we said “stoner rock.” The 10-song collection’s a soulful, uptempo, aggressive surprise. This week’s Drop featured the swaggering “Somebody’s Someone.” Click here to have a listen and to read Sparhawk’s thoughts on “the true path.” Retribution Gospel Choir, produced by Mark Kozelek, is out 3/18 on Caldo Verde.

Retribution Gospel Choir - 'Somebody's Someone'

And, for this week’s giveaway, we have two $100 Nike gift cards for two sporty winners…

Each winner gets a card worth $100, redeemable at or any Niketown. Um, what does Nike have to do with music? Well, on top of LCD Soundsystem and Aesop Rock and the like, they put together some running mixes with coaching voice overs by athletes like Lance Armstrong, Serena Williams, and Kara Goucher. You can see full trackist for the Armstrong mix here. A couple others:

Serena Williams’ Spontaneous Speed Workout
01 Family Affair (Mary J Blige)
02 Just Fine (Mary J Blige)
03 Let It Go (Keyshia Cole)
04 Instigator (Kaci Brown)
05 Baby Love (Nicole Sherzinger)
06 Release (Timbaland/Justin Timberlake)
07 Apologize (Timbaland/OneRepublic)
08 Give It To You (Eve & Sean Paul)
09 Unblievealbe (Kaci Brown)
10 Nolia Fairytake (Vanessa Carlton)
11 A Thousand Miles (Vanessa Carlton)

You can hear an MP3 sample or surf to iTunes. Williams also did one called Interval Run. You can sample that one or make an iTunes run as well. Kara Goucher mixes it up, too.

Kara Goucher’s Endurance Boost
01 Let’s Get It Started (Black Eyed Peas)
02 Don’t Phunk With My Heart (Black Eyed Peas)
03 Timebomb (Beck)
04 Say Goodbye To Love (Kenna)
05 Somewhere Only We Know (Keane)
06 For The Girl (The Fratellis)
07 Lay Down The Law (The Switches)
08 Where It’s At (Beck)
09 The Middle (Jimmy Eat World)
10 Sorry Sorry (Rooney)
11 Come To You (Carina Round)
12 Chase The Light (Jimmy Eat World)
13 Stop Stare (One Republic)

People really like to run to Black Eyed Peas and associated projects: sample and iTunes link. You can learn more here.