Is The New Moon Soundtrack The Best Album Of 2009?

Whoops, looks like two cultures just got shocked. Obviously that headline is a joke! Except that maybe it isn’t? Rumors had been swirling about Thom Yorke and Bon Iver penning songs for the The Twilight Saga: Teen Vampires In Love Some More soundtrack, and those rumors are confirmed with today’s OST tracklist, exclusively revealed by MySpace. But you already knew that because MySpace is your homepage. And hey, this thing looks good, like mini-Dark Was The Night good.

In addition to Thom’s new tune “Hearing Damage,” and Bon Iver’s duet with St. Vincent’s face on a song called “Rosyln,” Twilight scored previously unreleased tracks from Grizzly Bear and the Killers. Atlantic, in conjunction with soundtrack curator Alexandra Patsavas’s Chop Shop, will release the album, and so there’s a correlatively strong showing of Atlantic-affiliated artists (Death Cab, Lykke Li, and Muse, the lone holdover from the first film’s OST) and a Patsavas pet (her Chop Shop puts out Anya Marina who made the cut). You’ve heard Death Cab’s “Meet Me On The Equinox.” Here’s a few more reasons you suddenly love vampires:

01 Death Cab For Cutie – “Meet Me On The Equinox”
02 Band Of Skulls – “Friends”
03 Thom Yorke- “Hearing Damage”
04 Lykke Li – “Possibility”
05 The Killers – “A White Demon Love Song”
06 Anya Marina – “Satellite Heart”
07 Muse – “I Belong To You (New Moon Remix)”
08 Bon Iver and St. Vincent – “Rosyln”
09 Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – “Done All Wrong”
10 Hurricane Bells – “Monsters”
11 Sea Wolf – “The Violet Hour”
12 Ok Go – “Shooting The Moon”
13 Grizzly Bear (Feat. Victoria Legrand) – “Slow Life”
14 Editors – “No Sound But The Wind”
15 Alexandre Desplat – “New Moon (The Meadow)”

The Twilight Saga: New Moon soundtrack is out 10/20 via Atlantic, and the soundtrack artists will tour Hot Topic outlets nationwide. As if you needed another reason to go there after school.