AnCo's Deakin Promises 'Centipede Hz' Will Be Weird

In what is either great news or terrible news, depending on where you stand on Animal Collective circa 2012, the now-back-in-the-fold Animal Collective guitarist Josh “Deakin” Dibb says stuff is gonna get weird on the forthcoming Centipede Hz. Here’s Dibb:

I remember saying, “This is going to be harder for people to swallow.” There’s no doubt about it: people are going to react to this. It wasn’t being bummed about it or a critical comment of the music or anything ­— I’m really stoked and I think the record’s amazing, personally. But there was an instant melodic gratification to Merriweather and I think we intentionally made a record this time that is a lot more … um … [laughs] We took a left turn at weird town. For the most part, every song, in terms of the way the record is laid out and the choices we made sonically, is way more challenging. And that’s been verified by every person I’ve played it for so far. People have said they love the record. Friends of ours have said it took them two or three times to even understand it. Merriweather is not that. From the first note of Merriweather you’re like, “Oh my God, I just wanna dance” or “My heart’s exploding.” This is more like, “This is amazing but I’m confused and I don’t quite know what’s going on and I think I need to listen to it again and maybe I should turn it off.”

(via Stool Pigeon)

Two recent singles certainly suggested a break away from the melody of Merriweather, for what it’s worth. Centipede Hz is out 9/4 on Domino.

Comments (15)
  1. Sounds fantastic! I still want my Kickstarter money back though Deakin!

  2. I was thinking about this while listening to Liars’ new album.

    Liars and Animal Collective both have impressive back catalogs that are defined by how they RE-define their sound on every single album.

    With Liars new record, it’s a more subdued affair. Not too far from Radiohead following up In Rainbows with The King of Limbs. But while listening to Liars, I had to remind myself, “This is what they do. They change their sound on each subsequent album.”

    Then I thought about Animal Collective and how there is no way in hell they’ll ever make anything close to Merriweather Post Pavilion. Given the mixed response to WIXIW, I started to think about the future backlash from “newer” Animal Collective fans when Centipede Hz drops. Of course, anybody who has been a fan of more than 3 AnCo records should be ready for the new album. I think most of AnCo’s new fans Post-”My Girls” will be in for a shock.

    Always loved Deakin the most: “We took a left turn at weird town” — Truer words couldn’t be found to describe Animal Collective.

    • kind of like the Oracular Spectacular –>Congratulations transition

    • Think this sums it up perfectly. Especially considering WIXIW is my album of the year so far. It’s almost guaranteed that AnCo will deliver and I cant wait for the weirdness.

      • Oh! Great to see someone else is considering WIXIW (pronounced “Wish You” I just recently found out) for album of the year greatness. It’s been on loop in my car ever since I picked up the vinyl. I have a record player in my car just kidding I wish wait no that would suck with skips CDs are bad enough…

        But how about “Brats” ?! And the first three songs of WIXIW is the sexiest/sleekest introduction build for an album I’ve heard in a long time. But more importantly, HOW ABOUT BRATS omg that song slays me. Love Liars. WIXIW is amazing. More people need to know this. The most repeatable and listenable album I’ve come across thus far. Angus’ voice is a fine aged wine at this point and it’s the most subdued Liars album to date. Remember when they opened for Radiohead? Clearly, Thom saw promise.

  3. Really excited. I’m trying to get my banshee beat in a leaf house…meooooowwwww.

  4. “ready for an album” dumb

  5. It’s funny…I guess they didn’t necessarily need to make a more “pop” sounding album like Merriweather to get to a point where they would want to record stranger songs again, but my guess is that this time around they probably felt more of a reactionary impulse in the writing process. In that sense, I wouldn’t be surprised if the songs are “weirder” sounding on the new album than they naturally already would have been before they got all the pop culture critical acclaim and Beach Boys comparisons. Let’s face it – even though Merriweather was more accessible, it is by no means a normal sounding album.

  6. The singles were great but I get the distinct feeling that they won’t reflect much of what we’re going to see in September.

    Honeycomb is so good that the only way it wouldn’t go on the album is if it doesn’t really jell with the rest.

    • Honeycomb isn’t on the album. It wasn’t in the album teaser video AnCo put out last month and Domino confirmed it. The tracklist is:

      01. Moonjock
      02. Today’s Supernatural
      03. Rosie Oh
      04. Applesauce
      05. Wide Eyed
      06. Father Time
      07. New Town Burnout
      08. Monkey Riches
      09. Mercury Man
      10. Pulleys
      11. Amanita

  7. wonder if this article gets Deakin kicked out of the band again

  8. Could you toot your own horn any more?


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2