La Sera – “Losing To The Dark”

Tom Breihan | March 5, 2014 - 3:45 pm

The Vivian Girls played their last show ever just a few nights ago, and now that band’s former bassist Katy Goodman is already moving on. This spring, she’ll release Hour Of The Dawn, the third solo album that she’s recorded under the name La Sera. In a press release, Goodman talks about how she didn’t want this album to be a solitary and bummed-out affair, the way the last two La Sera albums were. Instead, she wanted this album to be “fun,” to “sound like Lesley Gore fronting Black Flag.” That’s a tall order, and I’m not sure the first single and opening track “Losing To The Dark” fulfills it, but it is a sharp and fun piece of Best Coast-esque pop-punk. Download it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

La Sera – “Losing To The Dark”


01 “Losing To The Dark”
02 “Summer Of Love”
03 “Running Wild”
04 “Fall In Place”
05 “All My Love Is For You”
06 “Hour Of The Dawn”
07 “Kiss This Town Away”
08 “Control”
09 “10 Headed Goat Wizard”
10 “Storm’s End”

Hour Of The Dawn is out 5/13 on Hardly Art.