Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

We’ve been wondering for a while when Seattle art-rap enigmas Shabazz Palaces would follow up their head-spinning 2011 album Black Up, and as it turns out, they already have that follow-up loaded up and ready to go. The group’s new album is called Lese Majesty, and they debuted it with a surprise laser-light-show listening party over the weekend. This morning, they share their first song from the album, a hard-but-woozy head trip called “They Come In Gold.” Listen to it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Dawn In Luxor”
02 “Forerunner Foray”
03 “They Come In Gold”
04 “Solemn Swears”
05 “Harem Aria”
06 “Noetic Noiromantics”
07 “The Ballad Of Lt. Major Winnings”
08 “Soundview”
09 “Ishmael”
10 “…Down 155th In The MCM Snorkel”
11 “Divine Of Form”
12 “#CAKE”
13 “Colluding Oligarchs”
14 “Suspicion Of A Shape”
15 “MindGlitch Keytar TM Theme”
16 “Motion Sickness”
17 “New Black Wave”
18 “Sonic MythMap For The Trip Back”
(via Gorilla Vs. Bear)

Lese Majesty is out 7/29 on Sub Pop.

Comments (5)
  1. EIGHTEEN TRACKS! Ahhhh hell yes.

    They’ve come a long way in the track name department:

    From the band that brought you “A Treatease Dedicated To The Avian Airess From North East Nubis (1000 Questions, 1 Answer)” brings you “#CAKE” !

  2. Holy shit this is incredible. I hope the rest of the album is on this song’s level.

  3. I feel stupid everytime I listen to Shabazz Palaces. I need to take an intro course so I can get into it, because I’m pretty sure it’d be digable (get it? You get it).

  4. So good. I love that Hendrix-y guitar sample in the right channel.

  5. Oh, of course the songs are organized into 7 Suites.

    I love these guys.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2