The Rentals - Lost In Alphaville

In December, we learned that the Rentals, which started out as a Weezer side project back when bassist Matt Sharp was still in the band, were readying their first album in a decade and a half. Other than Sharp, the new lineup of the Rentals is completely different, and it includes Black Keys drummer Patrick Carney, as well as Lucius members Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig, Ozma’s Ryen Slegr, and the Section Quartet’s Lauren Chipman. But today, we get to hear our first taste of the album, and I’m delighted to report that it’s the same sort of mechanized pleasure-overdrive power-pop that the band was making back in the day. Below, check out first single “Thought Of Sound,” as well as the tracklist for comeback album Lost In Alphaville.

01 “It’s Time To Come Home”
02 “Traces Of Our Tears”
03 “Stardust”
04 “1000 Seasons”
05 “Damaris”
06 “Irrational Things”
07 “Thought Of Sound”
08 “Song Of Remembering”
09 “Seven Years”
10 “The Future”
(via Pitchfork)

Lost In Alphaville is out 8/26 on Polyvinyl.

Comments (3)
  1. Woah, song doesn’t waste any time, does it? Has a distinct 90s, B-side sound to it.

  2. Really confused… all of these songs have been available for years in the massive (and hugely overpriced) box set, Songs About Time. Were they re-recorded or finally released in a more accessible format?

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2