After the confusing presence of the Aphex Twin logo on a blimp in London and the streets of NYC over the weekend, we now have some even more exciting, but no less mysterious news from the baffling world of Richard D. James. Aphex Twin has just tweeted a strange link ending in .onion, the domain typically associated with the TOR proxy-browser and generally used when accessing the Deep Web. Working through to get to the site reveals some text that appears to be announcing a new album titled SYRO with a tracklist which you can find below, along with the picture you see above. Some are speculating the numbers next to those possible song titles indicate BPM. SYRO follows the recent discovery of Caustic Window, a lost Aphex Twin album from 1994. Today is James’ birthday; however, it looks like we’re the ones getting a present as this would be the first new Aphex Twin album since 2001′s Druqks.

The “tracklist”:
01 minipops 67 (source field mix)
02 XMAS_Eve10 (thanaton3 mix)
03 produk 29
04 4 bit 9d epi+e+6
05 180db_
06 CIRCLONT6A (syrobonkus mix)
07 fz pseudotimestrech+e+3
08 CIRCLONT14 (shrymoming mix)
09 syro u473t8+e (piezoluminescence mix)
10 PAPAT4 (pineal mix)
11 s950tx16wasr10 (earth portal mix)
12 aisatsana

The tweet in question:

More on this story as it develops…

UPDATE: Another domain, https://syro2eznzea2xbpi.com, mirrors the info on its deep web counterpart, but with the album title and track names X’d out. The site’s registrant and admin are … Warp Records.

Comments (33)
  1. STOKED.

  2. *heavy breathing*

  3. Oh please oh please……

  4. Are you gonna give credit to James Houston @1030 seeing as you stole his screenshot?

  5. This is some sweet birthday news for me.
    And Richard, because apparently we have the same birthday.

  6. Come to daddy. OWWWOOOOOOOOO!

  7. Hidden due to low comment rating. Click here to see

  8. That track list is classic. I’m really happy he went with the syrobonkus mix. Can’t wait to dig in to this.

  9. aphex info = crashed watmm

  10. Final track is “Anastasia” spelled backwards. I would love it if the album was peppered with RDJ’ed up Don Bluth samples.

  11. Saw this outside our office right after the post went up:

  12. Yessssss. This is great.

  13. Pants: totally filled.

  14. Really, really happy. Like, genuine happiness. My music listening and purchasing life has been deeply connected to this man since Nov 1993 and I’m extremely excited to know that there will likely be something new very soon. Lawd, I hope some version of the Metz track turns up on this album.

    The song titles are slightly annoying, but that’s just a personal gripe. All I really care about is hearing some new Aphex.

  15. if his face is on the cover that means its a stellar aphex twin record.

  16. Can I just say, though, that the Analord series was 2005, 3 1/2 hours, 42 tracks long. Also, The Tuss (which is RDJ) releases were 2007. Then there was the 20 bonus Analord tracks in 2009. Compared to the majority of his career (even those years), it’s been a long time since he released some new (officially). But it hasn’t been since 2001.

    • This reminded me to go listen to “Death Fuck” by The Tuss.

      I highly recommend it!

    • A million thumbs up. I somehow missed the bonus Analord tracks from 2009. Thank you so much! I actually really love almost all that Analord stuff and probably listen to it as much as any other Aphex music if not more. So excited there is more out there.

  17. *something, or *some new music

  18. These song titles are so ridiculous that I would have second thoughts about even manually filling them into my iTunes if I received a copy that didn’t encoded with the complete track list.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2