Sonny And The Sunsets – “Pretend You Love Me”

The highly underrated, ridiculously fun Bay Area pop-psych band Sonny And The Sunsets have just announced the imminent release of a new album called Longtime Companion, which they promise will be a country album, of all things. The first track we’ve heard from the album is called “Pretend You Love Me,” and it fits the tag fairly well. It’s five and a half minutes of sprawling heartbreak, using Sonny Smith’s considerable melodic gifts for something more expansive than usual. Listen to the song and check the album’s tracklist below.

01 “I Was Born”
02 “Dried Blood”
03 “Children Of The Beehive”
04 “Pretend You Love Me”
05 “Year Of The Cock”
06 “Rhinestone Sunset”
07 “I See The Void”
08 “Sea Of Darkness”
09 “My Mind Messed Up”
10 “Longtime Companion”
(via Pitchfork)

Longtime Companion is out 6/26 on Polyvinyl.