Swans The Seer Details

New York primal-noise pioneers Swans might not have the same lineup as they did when they were making audience members puke with how loud they were, but Michael Gira’s reconstituted band of warriors has been making some seriously mythic sounds since getting back together a couple of years ago; their set at last year’s I’ll Be Your Mirror festival just about made my brain explode. And now they’ve announced plans for a titanic new album called The Seer. Its 11 songs run about two hours, and Gira calls it “the culmination of every previous Swans album as well as any other music I’ve ever made, been involved in or imagined.”

The album includes guest contributions from Karen O, Low’s Alan Sparhawk and Mimi Parker, Akron/Family, and old Swans collaborator Jarboe. So: This is very likely to be an absolutely fucking awesome album. It’ll be out late this summer, and we’ve got the tracklist below.

01 “Lunacy”
02 “Mother Of The World”
03 “The Wolf”
04 “The Seer”
05 “The Seer Returns”
06 “93 Ave. B Blues”
07 “The Daughter Brings The Water”
08 “Song For A Warrior”
09 “Avatar”
10 “A Piece Of The Sky”
11 “The Apostate”

The Seer is out 8/28 on Young God.

Tags: Swans