Caribou Announces Daphni LP, Disses “EDM Barfsplosion”

Daphni - Jiaolong

Caribou Announces Daphni LP, Disses “EDM Barfsplosion”

Daphni - Jiaolong

For a while now, Dan Snaith, mastermind of the forever-morphing percussive psych-pop project Caribou, has been making remixes and dance tracks under his Daphni alter-ego. And this fall, he’ll release Jiaolong, his first full-length collection as Daphni. According to a press release, Snaith became inspired to make a dance record after spending a ton of time DJing in clubs during Caribou’s marathon tours. Below, we’ve got the album’s tracklist, the moving-pictures video for his 2011 single “Ye Ye,” and some vaguely incendiary words that Snaith wrote about the album’s genesis.

Here’s what Snaith had to say in that press release:

I’ve been surprised by the number of transcendent moments that I, sober and in my mid-30s, have had in clubs in the last few years, both as a punter and as a DJ. Against my expectations, there’s some magic in it still. The clich├ęs about the collective consciousness of clubs still seems to hold water in some special cases. Set against the backdrop of bland and functional dance music and the mind-numbing predictability of the EDM barfsplosion currently gripping the corporate ravesters, there is a small world where dance music lives up to its potential to liberate, surprise, and innovate. It’s there that I hope Daphni has a place.

(via Merge)

Merge has since amended that press release to remove the “barfspoitation” talk; I guess the label doesn’t want it with Deadmau5.

01 “Yes, I Know”
02 “Cos-Ber-Zam – Ne Noya (Daphni Mix)”
03 “Ye Ye”
04 “Light”
05 “Pairs”
06 “Ahora”
07 “Jiao”
08 “Springs”
09 “Long”

Jiaolong is out 10/9 on Merge.

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?