Andrew Bird – “The Fake Headlines” (The New Pornographers Cover)

Andrew Bird – “The Fake Headlines” (The New Pornographers Cover)

Montreal’s Yellow Bird Project works with musicians to create T-shirt designs that benefit a charities of the artists’ choice; they’ve printed designs by the likes of Bon Iver, Best Coast, Tegan And Sara, Grizzly Bear, Rilo Kiley, and many more. Now they’re moving from coverings by indie rockers to covers by indie rockers. A compilation called Good People Rock, being funded now through Pledge Music, features the likes of Andrew Bird, Hayden, Elvis Perkins, and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah’s Alec Ounsworth performing songs by the likes of the New Pornographers, Beach House, TV On The Radio, Hot Chip, Metric, and Sharon Van Etten. (Perkins and Ounsworth cover songs by each other.) Hear the comp’s leadoff track, Andrew Bird’s chamber-pop reworking of New Pornographers’ Mass Romantic sugar rush “The Fake Headlines,” below.

Good People Rock is available for pre-order here. Proceeds will be used to fund and promote further Yellow Bird Project activities. Check out the tracklist:

1. Andrew Bird – “Fake Headlines” (New Pornographers)
2. Hayden – “Family Tree” (TV on the Radio)
3. Elvis Perkins ft. Alec Ounsworth – “Mexican Ritual” (Alec Ounsworth)
4. Whispertown – “Give A Little Love” (Rilo Kiley)
5. Micah P. Hinson – “Not One Bit Ashamed” (King Creosote)
6. King Creosote – “Take It In” (Hot Chip)
7. Alec Ounsworth – “How’s Forever Been Baby” (Elvis Perkins)
8. Keaton Henson – “Take Care” (Beach House)
9. Dry the River – “Satellite Mind” (Metric)
10. T E Morris – “Much More Then That” (Sharon Van Etten)

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?