Spoon – “Rent I Pay” + They Want My Soul Details

Spoon – “Rent I Pay” + They Want My Soul Details

We’ve seen a trio of teaser videos, read about the new record label, and witnessed the live debuts of “Rainy Taxi,” “Knock Knock Knock,” and “Rent I Pay.” Now, at last, the first studio recording from Spoon’s new They Want My Soul has been revealed, along with the album’s tracklist. As promised, “Rent I Pay” is online today. Stream it below.

That’s the cover art up top. And this is the tracklist:

01 “Rent I Pay”
02 “Inside Out”
03 “Rainy Taxi”
04 “Do You”
05 “Knock Knock Knock”
06 “Outlier”
07 “They Want My Soul”
08 “I Just Don’t Understand”
09 “Let Me Be Mine”
10 “New York Kiss”

They Want My Soul is out 8/5 on Loma Vista. Pre-order it at iTunes.

UPDATE: The band has shared this additional, promising info via Facebook:

The album was recorded this past winter, mostly at Public HiFi in Austin and Tarbox in Cassadaga, NY. It was the first time we’ve had the chance to work with Dave Fridmann (Flaming Lips, MGMT, Creaming Jesus) and we’re pretty sure that the levels indicate this to be our loudest record — it’s also Deux Deux’s favorite. What else…Side One begins with the gnarliest Jim Eno drum sound ever recorded and Side Two ends with Rob Pope’s bass amp completely breaking down to fuzz + hiss at the end of a take. The record’s got beats, whispers, chants, guitars, whistles, secret codes, and horror-movie strings. It’s got songs about holy rollers, back masking, real life properties of physics, love during the apocalypse and a brief reappearance of Jonathon Fisk.

more from News