Electric Würms – “Heart Of The Sunrise” (Yes Cover)

Electric Würms is the side-project duo of longtime Flaming Lips partners Wayne Coyne and Steven Drozd, and they’ve just announced the impending release of their new EP Musik, Die Shwer Zu Twerk, set to arrive later this summer. The EP’s first single is a cover of Yes’s “Heart Of The Sunrise,” a 10-minute prog odyssey that appeared on that band’s 1971 album Fragile. The Electric Würms version is considerably shorter, but it’s bugged out and psychedelic and discordant in ways that go beyond even the more recent, freaked-out Flaming Lips material. Listen to the cover and check out the EP’s tracklist below.

01 “I Could Only See Clouds”
02 “Futuristic Hallucination”
03 “The Bat”
04 “Living”
05 “Transform!!!”
06 “Heart Of The Sunrise”

Musik, Die Shwer Zu Twerk is out 8/19 on Warner Bros., and that title has to be at least half a Miley Cyrus joke.