Tricky – “Nicotine Love” (Feat. Francesca Belmonte)

Tricky, whose prickly paranoiac throbbing dubbed-out mid-’90s music has aged a lot better than the term “trip-hop,” released his last album False Idols just over a year ago, and he’s already announced plans to follow it up with a new one with the title Adrian Thaws, which is also the name on Tricky’s birth certificate. The new LP features appearances from people like Mykki Blanco, Nneka, and Oh Land, and in a press release, Tricky says, “I suppose this is my club/hip hop album.” First single “Nicotine Love” combines Tricky’s usual angry-languid-panting style with a bloopy electro beat, which turns out to be a surprisingly natural combination. Guest singer Francesca Belmote contributes to many of the album’s tracks, and judging by her work here, her expansive vocals are very much in the vein of Martina Topley-Bird, Tricky’s all-time greatest collaborator. Below, listen to “Nicotine Love” and check out the album’s tracklist.

01 “Sun Down” (Feat. Tirzah)
02 “Lonnie Listen” (Feat. Mykki Blanco & Francesca Belmonte)
03 “Something In The Way” (Feat. Francesca Belmonte)
04 “Keep Me In Your Shake” (Feat. Nneka)
05 “The Unloved (Skit)”
06 “Nicotine Love” (Feat. Francesca Belmonte)
07 “Gangster Chronicles” (Feat. Bella Gotti)
08 “I Had A Dream” (Feat. Francesca Belmonte)
09 “My Palestine Girl” (Feat. Blue Daisy)
10 “Why Don’t You” (Feat. Bella Gotti)
11 “Silly Games” (Feat. Tirzah)
12 “Right Here” (Feat. Oh Land)
13 “Silver Tongue – When You Go”
(via Pitchfork)

Adrian Thaws is out 9/8 on False Idols.