Röyksopp – “Skulls”

There’s been a lot said about the death of the album and not much follow-through, but it seems like Norwegian duo Röyksopp may be abandoning the format after their next album. Today, they announced their new album, The Inevitable End, with this message: “We feel like this is a goodbye to the traditional album format, In our consecutive run of albums, we have been able to say what we want to say and do what we want to do with the LP. We’re not going to stop making music, but the album format as such, this is the last thing from us…” The album announcement was accompanied by a new song, called “Skulls.” It’s a dark, throbbing techno track built around the line, “If you wanna ride with us tonight,” which also features heavily into their new web presence. The duo says that they’ve “moved into a darker subject matter, with emphasis on the lyrical content” on the new album, an approach they say “feels very both personal, sincere, and conclusive.” Robyn will appear on two of the album’s tracks, one of which is a reworking of “Monument” off their collaborative EP from earlier this year. Listen to the new song and check out the tracklist below.

And here’s a new video for The Inevitable End version of their Robyn track, “Monument“:

01 Skulls ?
02 Monument (Feat. Robyn) [T.I.E. Version]?
03 Sordid Affair  (Feat. Ryan James of Man Without Country)
?04 You Know I Have To Go (Feat. Jamie McDermott of the Irrepressibles)
?05 Save Me (Feat. Susanne Sundfør)
?06 I Had This Thing (Feat. Jamie McDermott)
?07 Rong (Feat. Robyn)?
08 Here She Comes Again (Feat. Jamie McDermott)
?09 Running to the Sea (Feat. Susanne Sundfør)?
10 Compulsion (Feat. Jamie McDermott)?
11 Coup de Grace?
12 Thank You

The Inevitable End is out 11/11 via Cherrytree/Interscope. You can preorder here.

Tags: Robyn, Röyksopp