Viet Cong – “Continental Shelf” + Debut LP Details

Earlier this year, Matt Flegel and Mike Wallace, former members of the lamented Calgary band Women, formed a new band called Viet Cong and released their Cassette EP. They’ve just announced plans to follow up that EP with a self-titled debut full-length, which is coming early next year. First single “Continental Shelf” is a scratchy postpunk number with all the guitar clangor you’d expect from a Women offshoot. But it has an assured melodic pulse to it, too, and there’s more than a hint of Joy Division in it. Listen to it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Newspaper Spoons”
02 “Pointless Experience”
03 “March Of Progress”
04 “Bunker Buster”
05 “Continental Shelf”
06 “Silhouettes”
07 “Death”
(via Pitchfork)

Viet Cong is out 1/20 on Jagjaguwar (and Flemish Eye in Canada).

Tags: Viet Cong