Subplots – “Future Tense” (Stereogum Premiere)

Subplots – “Future Tense” (Stereogum Premiere)

Artful, emotionally charged Dublin rockers Subplots — the studio duo of Phil Boughton and Daryl Chaney plus live drummer Ross Chaney — are preparing to release the long-gestating follow-up to 2009 debut Nightcycles. It’s called Autumning, and it’ll be out this January. The latest preview from the project, “Future Tense,” is a sweeping piece of work. The song builds from spare, somber piano to a driving climax powered by off-kilter rhythms, arching vocal patterns, screaming guitars, and all sorts of other sonic revelry. The aesthetic lies somewhere in the overlap between Radiohead, the National, and the Twilight Sad, and you’d do well to venture into that zone. Hear “Future Tense” below.

Autumning is out 1/30/15 on Cableattack!! Pre-order it on limited edition vinyl at Bandcamp. Here’s the tracklist:

01 “Wave Collapse”
02 “The Sunken Wild”
03 “Escherich”
04 “Colourbars”
05 “9/8″
06 “Future Tense”
07 “End of Print”
08 “Follower”
09 “Epilogue”

And here’s “Colourbars,” another song from the project:

Subplots also have some live dates in Dublin over the next few months:

10/18/14 Dublin, IR @ Whelans (w/ Glass Animals) **sold out**
11/15/14 Dublin, IR @ Pepper Canister Church (w/ Luke Abbott)
01/30/15 Dublin, IR @ Workman’s Club (Irish album launch)

more from News

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already a VIP? Sign in.