Soundgarden – “Storm” + Echo Of Miles Details

Soundgarden – “Storm” + Echo Of Miles Details

Last night, out of nowhere, grunge warriors Soundgarden released a brand new song called “Storm” into the world. It’s a big, sprawling psychedelic churner with a serious low end and some impressive mystic vibes, and it could easily be a second-half album track on Superunknown. Lately, the band has been making noises about releasing a B-sides compilation, and we don’t know if this has anything to do with that. (UPDATE: It does, see below.) We do, however, know that it’s the first new song they’ve cranked out since they released their reunion album King Animal two years ago. It was recorded in May with Jack Endino in Seattle. Check it out below.

It’s entirely possible that the whole Soundgarden-reunion endeavor is just now hitting its stride. That’s a good song.

UPDATE: Here’s the tracklist for the new b-sides and rarities collection Echo Of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across The Path, out 11/25 via A&M. “Storm” is one of 7 unreleased tracks.

Disc 1: Originals
Soundgarden-written songs (mainly B-sides) in addition to two unreleased songs, “Kristi” and “Storm.”
01. “Sub Pop Rock City”
02. “Toy Box”
03. “Heretic”
04. “Fresh Deadly Roses”
05. “H.I.V. Baby”
06. “Cold Bitch”
07. “Show Me”
08. “She’s A Politician”
09. “Birth Ritual”
10. “She Likes Surprises”
11. “Kyle Petty, Son Of Richard”
12. “Exit Stonehenge”
13. “Blind Dogs”
14. “Bleed Together”
15. “Black Rain”
16. “Live To Rise”
17. “Kristi”
18. “Storm”

Disc 2: Covers
Feat. versions of the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, the Doors, the Stooges, the Ramones, DEVO, and more.
01. “Swallow My Pride”
02. “Smokestack Lightnin'”
03. “Everybody’s Got Something”
04. “Thank You”
05. “Come Together”
06. “Stray Cat Blues”
07. “Into The Void”
08. “Girl U Want”
09. “Touch Me” (Friday Rock Show)
10. “Can You See Me?” (Friday Rock Show)
11. “Homicidal Suicidal” (Friday Rock Show)
12. “I Can’t Give You Anything” (Friday Rock Show)
13. “I Don’t Care About You” (Friday Rock Show)
14. “Waiting For The Sun” (Live)
15. “Search And Destroy” (Live)
16. “Big Bottom” (Live)
17. “Earache My Eye” (Live)

Disc 3: Oddities
Instrumentals, remixes, and demos “including Steve Fisk’s unreleased ‘The Telephantasm (Resurrection Remix),’ ‘Twin Tower,’ penned by Matt Cameron, and ‘Night Surf,’ an instrumental performed by bassist Ben Shepherd.
01. “Twin Tower”
02. “Jerry Garcia’s Finger”
03. “Ghostmotorfinger”
04. “Night Surf”
05. “A Splice Of Space Jam”
06. “The Telephantasm”
07. “Black Days III”
08. “Karaoke”
09. “Fopp (Fucked Up Remix)”
10. “Big Dumb Sex (Dubbed)”
11. “Spoonman (Steve Fisk Remix)”
12. “Rhinosaur (The Straw That Broke The Rhino’s Back)”
13. “Dusty (Moby Remix)”
14. “The Telephantasm (Resurrection Remix)”
15. “One Minute Of Silence”

Per press release:

The package has once again been beautifully designed by Josh Graham. The set features three separate thematic discs in a clear plastic slipcase with three separate mini-jackets, each sporting its own unique art, a booklet and inserts, allowing you to mix and match your own album graphic layout.

It looks like this:

more from News