Godspeed You! Black Emperor – “Peasantry Or ‘Light! Inside Of Light'” (Excerpt) & Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress Details

Back in 2012, the shadowy, majestic Canadian post-rock collective Godspeed You! Black Emperor released Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!, their first album after a decade-plus hiatus, and it was just as thundering and grand and powerful as everything else they’ve ever done. The band won Canada’s Polaris Music Prize for the album, and they issued a statement about the “tone-deaf” ceremony, but that story should not overwhelm the gut-grabbing power of the album itself. And now they’ve announced that they’ll have another album for us in about a month, which is just excellent news. The new album, Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress, clocks in at an overwhelmingly brief 40 minutes, which is pretty surprising coming from a group whose individual tracks often inch past the 20-minute mark. The album only has four songs, but 10-minute songs are still concise by Godspeed standards. The band recorded the album with Electrical Audio engineer Greg Norman at studios in North Carolina and Montreal. They’ve shared an eight-minute excerpt of the opening track “Peasantry Or ‘Light! Inside Of Light,'” and it’s a titanic, life-affirming instrumental stomp. You can hear that and check out the tracklist below.

01 “Peasantry Or ‘Light! Inside of Light!'”
02 “Lambs’ Breath”
03 “Asunder, Sweet”
04 “Piss Crowns Are Trebled”

Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress is out 3/31 on Constellation.