Shamir Announces Debut Album Ratchet

Shamir Announces Debut Album Ratchet

The chiffon-voiced 20-year-old Las Vegas singer Shamir Bailey appeared out of nowhere last year, dropping his Northtown EP on the Brooklyn DIY label GodMode and then breaking the fuck out with his giddy, irrepressible underground hit “On The Regular.” He’s since moved on to the much bigger label XL Recordings, and he’s now announcing that he’ll release the awesomely titled debut album Ratchet later this year. While he was making the album, Shamir moved into the Brooklyn underground venue Silent Barn. GodMode founder (and, full disclosure, my friend) Nick Sylvester produced the album. Below, check out the tracklist and Shamir’s statement about it.

01 “Vegas”
02 “Make A Scene”
03 “On The Regular”
04 “Call If Off”
05 “Hot Mess”
06 “Demon”
07 “In For The Kill”
08 “Youth”
09 “Darker”
10 “Head In The Clouds”

Ratchet is out 5/19 on XL.

Shamir statement

more from News