Empty Flowers – “The Ox” (Stereogum Premiere)

Empty Flowers – “The Ox” (Stereogum Premiere)

The Connecticut five-piece Empty Flowers make a hard and flinty but intricate form of postpunk, one that somehow recalls Lungfish, Slint, and Girls Against Boys at the same time. We gave Album Of The Week honors to their fantastic and underrated 2012 debut album Six back in 2012, and they followed it up in 2013 with Five. Later this month, they’ll follow it up with a new LP called Four. (Are you sensing a theme with those titles? What happens when they get to zero?) The album track “The Ox” is a muscular and intense piece of work, and you can listen to it and check out the Four tracklist below.

01 “Calling Her Sober”
02 “Floor Model”
03 “The Ox”
04 “Four”
05 “Dragging”
06 “Double Knot”
07″ Worse Phase”
08 “Serbian Cigarettes”
09 “Comb Over”

Four is out 6/16 on Translation Loss Records.

more from News

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already a VIP? Sign in.