Jean-Michel Jarre Announces New Album Feat. Pete Townshend, Air, M83, Tangerine Dream, & More

Jean-Michel Jarre Announces New Album Feat. Pete Townshend, Air, M83, Tangerine Dream, & More

French synth-lord Jean-Michel Jarre announced today that he will be releasing a new full-length titled Electronica 1: The Time Machine, which features a list of impressive collaborators. We’ve already heard songs that Jarre co-produced with M83 before, but this new album will also include input from Laurie Anderson, Pete Townshend, Fuck Buttons, Little Boots, Moby, Boys Noize, Vince Clark, Lang Lang, and more. Jarre explains why he chose this assortment of electronic artists:

I’ve wanted to tell a story for a while regarding electronic music history and its legacy from my point of view and experience, from when I started to nowadays… So I planned to compose for and collaborate with an array of artists who are, directly or indirectly linked to this scene, with people I admire for their singular contribution to our genre, that represent a source of inspiration for me over the last four decades I have been making music, but who also have an instantly recognizable sound. At the outset, I had no idea how this project would evolve, but I was delighted that everybody I reached out to accepted my invitation.

Check out the tracklist below.

01 “The Time Machine” (JMJ & Boys Noize)
02 “Glory” (JMJ & M83)
03 “Close Your Eyes” (JMJ & AIR)
04 “Automatic (Part 1)” (JMJ & Vince Clarke)
05 “Automatic (Part 2)” (JMJ & Vince Clarke)
06 “If..!” (JMJ & Little Boots)
07 “Immortals” (JMJ & Fuck Buttons)
08 “Suns Have Gone” (JMJ & Moby)
09 “Conquistador” (JMJ & Gesaffelstein)
10 “Travelator (Part 2)” (JMJ & Pete Townshend)
11 “Zero Gravity” (JMJ & Tangerine Dream)
12 “Rely On Me” (JMJ & Laurie Anderson)
13 “Stardust” (JMJ & Armin Van Buuren)
14 “Watching You” (JMJ & 3D (Massive Attack))
15 “A Question Of Blood” (JMJ & John Carpenter)
16 “The Train & The River” (JMJ & Lang Lang)

Electronica 1: The Time Machine is out 10/16 on Ultra Music.

more from News

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?