The Body – “Shelter Is Illusory”

The Body – “Shelter Is Illusory”

Over the past few years, experimental duo the Body have released collaborative efforts with the diverse likes of the Haxan Cloak, Thou, Krieg, and Sandworm. Today, they’ve announced their first independent record since 2013’s Christ, Redeemers, and it’s clear they picked up a few new tricks in their time spent with others. No One Deserves Happiness comes out in March, and in a press release the two of them have said that their goal was to create “the grosses pop album of all time.” “Shelter Is Illusory,” which features vocals from Humanbeast’s Maralie Armstrong, is certainly one of the most accessible tracks they’ve released so far, built around drum beats that wouldn’t feel out of place in a hip-hop song. Well, at least one of the darker ones. Take a listen below.

01 “Wanderings”
02 “Shelter Is Illusory”
03 “For You”
04 “Hallow / Hollow”
05 “Two Snakes”
06 “Adamah”
07 “Starving Deserter”
08 “The Fall And The Guilt”
09 “Prescience”
10 “The Myth Arc”

No One Deserves Happiness is out 3/18 via Thrill Jockey.

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?