Stream Art Week 2016 Compilation Feat. Owen Pallett, Teen Suicide, Katie Dey, & More

Art Week 2016 is a new compilation put together by Sam Ray, a follow-up a similar collection from 2012. It features original tracks from a huge swath of great musicians, including Owen Pallett, Teen Suicide, Ricky Eat Acid, Foxes In Fiction, Alex G (as Alan J), Katie Dey, Girlpool’s Harmony Tividad, Balam Acab, Spencer Radcliffe (and Blithe Field), High Bloom, Lucas, and a whole bunch more, including some artists working under pseudonymous names.

Ray explained the impetus of the project over email as such: “An excuse for tons of talented people I know & admire to do anything they want — whether it’s working under a fake name, writing in styles they love but don’t normally work in, or just recording something to do it (and in some cases, giving a home to an old track that never fit an album, or never got properly recorded before, etc).”

After you get past the Katie Dey track, which I had to repeat like five times before moving on because it’s pure genius, there’s so much amazing stuff here that it’s a little overwhelming! But it’s well worth a deep dive into to use as a jumping off point into exploring the rest of these musician’s respective outputs. You can listen to (and download) the whole compilation below.

Art Week 2016 is available as a free download on Bandcamp and Dropbox.