Dave Harrington Group – “Become Alive”

Dave Harrington Group – “Become Alive”

Darkside may be no more, but that doesn’t mean either Dave Harrington or Nicolas Jaar have stopped making music on their own. Harrington has just announced that he’ll release his debut album as the Dave Harrington Group, which features some of his “favorite musicians and closest friends,” one of which is Jaar. (That’s a lineup of all the dudes above.) The lead single off of the record is also its title track, “Become Alive,” and it’s a 9-minute instrumental. Listen to it via Pitchfork and read some words from Harrington below.

This record is the result of improvising with different combinations of people, and then processing and re-sculpting those improvisations—isolating passages, turning them into something new, overdubbing layers of myself, maybe taking something from another piece and superimposing it out of its original context. But each track is always me interacting with other people, sometimes just one or two… sometimes ten. There was flute, vibes, organ, Fender Rhodes, guitar, bass, two drummers, percussion, sax…just full-on, over-blown energy. I took all that and treated it as raw material in the mixing stage… but when you have ten people in a room, you can only edit so much. Everything is in every microphone anyway—it’s all connected, so it’s about turning it into whatever it wants to be.

01 “White Heat”
02 “Slides”
03 “The Prophet”
04 “Cities of the Red Night”
05 “Steels”
06 “Become Alive”
07 “Spectrum”
08 “All I Can Do”

Become Alive is out 4/15 via Other People.

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?