At The Drive-In’s Omar Rodríguez-López Will Release A Dozen Solo Albums Before The End Of The Year

Nobody would ever accuse the Mars Volta/At The Drive-In co-leader Omar Rodríguez-López of lacking ambition, but he’s never attempted anything like his latest undertaking. Over the rest of 2016, Rodríguez-López will release 12 all-new solo albums — two per month until the year is over. Rodríguez-López recorded all 12 albums between 2008 and 2013, working on them in Zapopan, Mexico and his El Paso, Texas hometown. All 12 of them will be coming out on Mike Patton’s Ipecac label, with the first, Sworn Virgins, due to arrive next week. They’ll all be available digitally, with physical copies available at Rodríguez-López’s live shows and a box set going up for sale once the run is over. Below, read a statement from Rodríguez-López and check out the release schedule for all 12 albums.

Rodríguez-López writes:

It’s crucial in this day and age to be able to surround yourself with like minded people that you can share an ethos with. I feel grateful and fortunate enough to have found this with such amazing people: Mike, Greg, Shawn, Marc and the Ipecac family. After throwing around many different project ideas, this seemed like the best place to actually begin, on what will surely be a long lasting collaboration. I can’t think of a better home for these records or of another label crazy enough to put out this much material. The series also owes its blood to the hard work and talents of Jon Debaun and Chris Common, who diligently scoured through endless hard drives to find these albums and provide such stellar mixes.

7/15: Sworn Virgins
7/29: Corazones
8/12: Blind Worms Pious Swine
8/26: Arañas En La Sombra
9/09: Umbrella Mistress
9/23: El Bien Y Mal Nos Une
10/07: Cell Phone Bikini
10/21: Infinity Drips
11/04: Weekly Mansions
11/18: Zapopan
12/02: Nom De Guerre Cabal
12/16: Some Need It Lonely